Holiday Painting

Happy holidays everyone! I haven’t updated this blog for quite a long time. School has been keeping me busy, but now I luckily have some free time. 🙂 I hope to get started on a new book and do a lot of art!

Like I always do, I waited til the last minute to get presents for my family this year. I still needed one for my grandpa so I decided to paint him something. XD

IMG_1650

Using a picture for reference, I started with a quick underpainting of the major forms in burnt umber. Then I went right ahead with the green, mixing the colors as I went along.

IMG_1652

I’ve never tried underpainting before, and I like how it added a layer of warmth beneath the colors. This time I also tried to emphasize the brush strokes to create a more impressionistic look. It was really fun to paint because of the speed and free movements.

IMG_1664

And here’s the finished result.

I’m excited to try this method again with more paintings! I like the oil paints a lot more than acrylic. They create such a soft look, and it’s so easy to blend colors.

Anyway, I hope you all enjoy the holidays!

6 thoughts on “Holiday Painting

Leave a Reply

