New Year, New Goals

Although I’m a little late- January’s almost over- I figured I would make a list of some of the goals I hope to accomplish this year. I won’t call them “resolutions,” because something about that word makes it a little intimidating, so for now I’ll just call them “goals”.

1. Write Novel #2

This is a huge goal for me, in terms of both size and importance. I’ve been developing a new story idea slowly, for the last six months, and I’m itching to get it down on paper and into a full-blown novel. This will also be a big step in improving my writing skills and getting a little closer to my dream of one day being published.

To make it seem a little more manageable, I’ve broken it down into some smaller steps:

  1. Make lots of notes
  2. Create an outline and character bible
  3. Start writing!
  4. Keep going!

Of course, even that looks much simpler than the actual process. But the main idea for me is to just keep moving, even if it’s slowly.

One challenge is going to be balancing schoolwork, extracurriculars, and everything else with writing. I’m going to try to put aside time every day for a little bit of work and see where it goes from there.

2. Improve Art Skills

This goal is a bit vague, which makes it a little difficult to know if I’m moving towards it, so these are a few mini-goals to help me stay on track:

  1. Sketch often (every day or so)
  2. Experiment with new mediums and styles (watercolor, digital, etc.)
  3. Develop a unique drawing style

Overall, I’m going to try to practice very often since that’s the only way I know to improve. I’d also like to produce some standalone works.

3. Blog More

Pretty self-explanatory XD

4. Learn Norwegian

This is a goal I’ve been working on for a number of months already, but I’d like to keep developing the skills. I started learning in the first place because I am half-Norwegian and visit the country every other year or so. I have a lot of family there that I’d like to be able to speak with, so the skill would come in handy. I also just think it’s fun to learn a new language anyway.

Hvis du kan snakke norsk, kanskje vi kan snakke litt sammen! 😀

If you want to learn a new language, I’d highly recommend Duolingo! It’s free and very fun and easy to use. I’m using it every day to learn Norwegian.

5. Learn Guitar

I’d like to learn how to play guitar and am planning on taking some lessons.

 

There’s a few more smaller goals and more projects will probably pop up in the future, but for now these are the major ones I’m focusing on. I’m going to try to stay sane in the meantime 🙂

8 thoughts on “New Year, New Goals

  1. Rick Cook Jr says:

    I love the broad spectrum you’ve set for yourself. I hope you can manage it all and still have some decompress time!

    Your Norwegian and guitar is my Russian and piano, and I hope to start making those a bigger priority. Kinda need money in the meantime, so still hustling for that time-sucking day job while chasing the creative money.

    If you find you need to bounce ideas or something for your novel or you need an alpha/beta reader at some point in the year, I wouldn’t mind offering a bit of help. =)

    Good luck to you and don’t forget to live a little while you’re doing all this.

    ~Rick

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tori J. says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Rick. I am little wary of not having time to relax, but I’m going to at least attempt to divide my time well and get things done. I’ll see how it works out in reality.

      Russian and piano sound great! I wish you the best of luck with those. And thanks so much for the offer. I’ll see where the manuscript is at after I write the first draft. The same goes to you, if you need a reader for any of your projects. 🙂

      Like

  2. Graphic Novel Girl says:

    That is very ambitious of you Tori J. I agree with you about making resolutions. They are usually an afterthought by the 3rd week of January, then you feel like a loser. If you set goals it’s more of a work in progress so you shouldn’t feel bad if you can’t follow through everyday cause you are always working on it, at your own pace.

    My goals are to write more book and graphic novel reviews. I am lucky to get galley copies of many titles and I have so many books that I just can’t get to read.

    I would like to make more time to be more consistant with my own blog, which is still out there BTW.

    I would like to return to doing the NYT crossword puzzle everyday. I used to do it and I really enjoyed it.

    I would like to knit more. I just got back into doing so for Christmas, and I’d like to go back to my typing practice lessons because I kinda suck at it a bit.

    Thanks to you Tori J for giving me a reminder about the importance of having goals. I look forward to seeing some winter sketches on your site. And Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tori J. says:

      Thanks for visiting my blog! I hope to be a little more active in the future and not drop off the face of the earth randomly.

      I totally agree, it’s much easier to think about resolutions/goals as “works in progress”. Good luck with your goals! I have way too many books as well, which I hope to read this year. When you update your blog I’ll be sure to stop by 🙂

      Crosswords are fun. I think it’s good to have something fun and interesting to do between all of the craziness in life. I used to do sudoku. Knitting sounds great as well. I’m trying to get back into crochet myself.

      Happy New Year to you too! I hope you have a great one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

