Onward

I’ve finally, finally started actual artwork for Solstice. The entire project is behind schedule (like always) but in some ways I feel like I’ve made leaps and bounds. For one thing, I edited the story and fixed basically every plot hole that could arise.

I can’t say that’s true for any other project I’ve ever done.

Of course, I didn’t do it alone. I had great help with editing and talked about the story, its problems, and solutions over a three day period. Now the story is a sparkling version of its former self, and I couldn’t be happier.

Now, onto the artwork!

I’ve had to do a bit of research first on the size of the book, its proportions, and shipping costs before starting to draw. I’m using Createspace, a print-on-demand publisher, and will go into further detail about the process of self-publishing later. One problem to tackle at a time.

Speaking of, I hadn’t realized how much math goes into this:

math and numbers

I’m not a fan of math or numbers, but it’s necessary for my project, unfortunately. I needed to measure out the book page size (7 x 10) and compare it to my artwork page size (9 x 12). Then I had to choose how wide the margins should be in the book and figure out how wide that would make the artwork margins. Yep, it’s a lot of work. Hopefully I’ll only need to do it once or twice.

I’m using 9 x 12 smooth Bristol board for the ink illustrations. Bristol’s usually pretty pricey but I randomly found a discount at Walmart. 🙂

Anyway, here’s the first page, which I’ve inked:

solstice page 1 ink start

solstice page 1 ink middle

soltice page 1 ink finished

Because I’ve chosen to create the line art traditionally rather than digitally, I need to scan each page onto the computer in order to color it. Then I’ll add speech bubbles and page numbers. It seems like more work but I believe that in the end it’ll actually be faster and easier than digitally drawing.

I think I also like the idea of being able to hold the artwork in my hands rather than only seeing it through a computer screen. Plus, its fun to draw with different kinds of pens!

My plan for the coming week is to draw as many pages as I possibly can so that I have ample time for coloring and formatting, which is scheduled for the week after. That’s okay, I wasn’t planning on sleeping anyway.

2 thoughts on “Onward

Leave a Reply

