Craziness

I can’t believe how long it’s been since my last blog post. I’ve been super busy lately with the graphic novel, outside work, and general life. Not to mention a whole barrage of new distractions- tumblr, instagram, etc. I really need to start putting my phone away.

Anyway, many things have happened since my last post:

1. I Sketchedย 68 Pages of Solstice

Nope, it’s not finished yet.ย I have to get there soon because I’m really running out of time. Being a procrastination god does have its faults.

2. I Gotย 100 Followers

Yippee! That makes me really happy. I can’t believe even one person wants to hear me rattle on about my current obsession. Thanks. I really appreciate it. ๐Ÿ™‚

3. I Sketched Characters

Hawk Sketch

This is Hawk. She’s the tough, bossy type.

Bear Sketch

This is Bear. He’s not cut out for the wild life. Too soft and squishable.

4. I Visited Cape Cod

It was beautiful but cold. I’ve decided that when I retire I’ll buy a tiny cottage near a lighthouse there, wear shoes with holes in them and a sunhat, and paint all day on the beach, my untamed white hair blowing in the breeze.

cape cod dock

5. I Bought a Guitar

I randomly fell in love with folk music (by Jose Gonzalez and Syd Matters) and now I quest to learn how to play it. It’s actually really relaxing. The first song I learned was Obstacles by Syd Matters.

my guitar

There you have it- random craziness at it’s best. There’ll be more next time. ๐Ÿ˜€

5 thoughts on “Craziness

  1. Roseann Podias says:

    Hey Tori J.
    Your sketches are fantastic. You really capture the emotional qualities that you wish to portray in your characters. I can feel Hawk’s self-reliance, and air of independence. Yet I read into her expression that she might sport a bit of bravado because she has to. That’s just the impressions I get from your drawings. Bear definatly looks more carefree, and mybe more naive than his companion. I can’t wait to read your finished product. It sounds like you’ve been very busy. I also have been too busy to blog. That phase reminds me of too drunk to #@ยฃ%. If you know what I mean. But I digress, sorry. I have been working, and working at getting my Masters degree in May, and trying not to go crazy. My Graphic Novel Girl site started out as a class assignment, but once I started I really enjoyed it. When other people besides my classmates started to follow it, I couldn’t believe it. Now I’m happy that people are interested in what I write, and read me because they want to, and not because they have to for school. I can’t wait to graduate so I can devote more time to talking about stuff I really enjoy. I’ve come across so many cool writers such as yourself, that have some interesting things to say. Keep up the good work!๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tori J. says:

      Hi Roseann. Thank you so much for the thoughtful message. It just made my day! (well, night). I’m happy that Hawk and Bear came across like that. That’s definitely what I was going for. I’m going to aim for that in the finished book. I can’t believe you want to read it! ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s so motivating and makes me so excited to get working.

      Wow, a masters degree! That’s definitely a lot of work- stay sane! I’m happy you started your website, even if it was for school. I’m glad you enjoy writing on it- I love reading what you write and discovering new books :). I have a whole pile and a wishlist waiting to be read. Yes, having people read your work is so rewarding and fun. I love meeting awesome people here as well, and I’m really glad to have found you and your blog. I’m excited to see where you’ll take it next!

      Like

  2. J.A. Steckling says:

    Yay! I’ve been off of the blogging scene for a while too, but I remember your post about your graphic novel. I’m really glad that you’ve made so much progress with the sketches! You seem really talented.
    I always wanted to learn to play guitar myself. I love Ani Difranco, and her music was what truly inspired me to want to play. The problem? I’m left-handed! I couldn’t find anyone that could teach me how to play left-handed, and I couldn’t afford professional lessons. Best of luck with it! If you haven’t heard any of Ani’s music, I recommend checking it out if you’re developing a folk music obsession. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tori J. says:

      Thank you! It’s coming along slowly, but surely XD. Left handed- that’s interesting! You could probably learn on your own, if you wanted. I know they make left-handed guitars so they may have tutorials online. I use youtube to learn! It’s a little hard but fun in the end.

      I just listened to some of Ani’s songs- I love them! Thank you so much for mentioning her. She’s very inspiring and her voice is beautiful. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      • J.A. Steckling says:

        Thanks for the advice! I actually can’t play anything but harmonica, and I’m not Bob Dylan, so that’s not a useful instrument at all! I’m glad you liked Ani’s music. A friend introduced me to her about ten years ago. Her older music is a little more depressing than her newer music, but she’s extremely talented. She inspired my poetry and my writing in general.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

