Experimenting Some More

I’m still working out the text for Solstice, but I wanted to see what a finished page would look like, so I tried drawing one. It’ll also help me see how I need to schedule my time, as I don’t have a lot of it!

I’m pretty sure I’ll create the art digitally, with a program called Paint Tool Sai and a tablet. I think it will be easier in the long run because I won’t have to scan pages and format them. I can also fix mistakes a lot more quickly. (I’m sure I’ll make a lot of them). But that’s all part of experimenting- getting out all the kinks before creating finished pieces.

Speaking of, I ran into a problem while coloring the page. The line art/drawing part of it turned out okay but then I tried coloring it and it looked clashing.

Here’s what I mean:

I mean, everything’s the color it’s supposed to be (kind of). The sky is blue, the trees are green, and the sun is yellow, but they just don’t look good. It might work for some art pieces, but the look I was going for was more natural and easy on the eyes. I figured out what the problem was after doing a bit of research and observing other artists’ work- my color scheme wasn’t unified. The colors had nothing in common, so they didn’t fit together well.

So I tried editing the page (taking the easy way out):
Solstice practice sketch 1 edit 2

It didn’t exactly work out either. The whiteness of the page changed!

Finally I sat down and colored the whole thing again, this time making a palette of sorts on the side of the page and adding a little bit of orange to each color:

Solstice practice sketch 3

oh no I spelled except wrong!

I think it worked out much better. Fox’s hair kind of blends in with the background and the value (lights and darks) is a little wonky, but it’s a step in the right direction. I’m glad I took the time to figure this out. Hopefully the whole process will go faster in the future.

This page is just an experiment. The story will deal with a similar sense of loneliness, but I’ll have to see what format and words it calls for when I reach this point.

Remember how I changed the story? Well I tried making a synopsis to get it straight in my head. Here goes:

A boy named Fox happens upon a group of children celebrating the summer solstice after waking in a forest with no memory. After one child claims to have seen a shadow-beast lurking around the camp during the night, the group realizes that the forest may hold hidden dangers. The leader of the group, a girl called Hawk, organizes a scouting group and recruits Fox to join and explore the forest surrounding the camp. As they watch out for the mysterious shadow-creature and run out of food, tensions run high. They soon realize that the greatest threat to their delicate society may not exist in the forest outside, but within themselves.

So it’s going to be kind of like a Lord of the Flies story set in the North American wilderness with folk elements mixed in there. I love dark and eerie stories, so I wanted to make my own. I’m just happy that I get to draw trees and stuff. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Experimenting Some More

  1. Graphic Novel Girl says:

    Hi Tori J,
    Your page looks awesome. I liked the original example showing the sky blue But i did think the first panel was a little dark. The last edit you did looks so good. The colors are more tonal, and the smokey bluish, green-gray ( I need a better name) color of the sky along with the pale pink is beautiful. It invokes the felling of serene beauty before to get into the tense quality of what goes on in the forest. The changes you made in the first panel look great too.
    Lightening up on the amount of black in the background looks really good. You do great work. 🌟

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tori J. says:

      Thank you so much! I agree- I think I’ll make the sky more bluish next time. The feeling of peacefulness is just the feeling I was going for. Now that I look at it, the first page was really dark and made it look too ominous. Thank you for the kind words. They really motivate me to keep going 🙂

      Like

  2. resili0 says:

    I’m loving the progress, I tend to wuss out when a project hits a frustrating point, kudos for keeping at the colour scheme. I’m terrible for typos too 🙂 Intuitively, your final palette conveys the mood the best, reading through, my brain liked the shiny first colour set but it didn’t convey the loneliness, I think you ended up with the suitable result for what you want.

    Your progress has galvanized me with working on my writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tori J. says:

      Thank you! Yes, I do that pretty often too, but it helps for me to have a deadline. Also, I’m just really excited to start drawing and everything, so that keeps me motivated through writing it, which I’m finding tough. I agree, the first color set was more colorful and fun to look at but I’m glad I took the time to experiment with the different color set.

      Keep going with your writing! I’m sure it’ll be fantastic 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

